Today, Falkenberg is a calm and charming town, but that was not always the case. The town has experienced its share of wars, attacks and fires. The ruins of Falkenberg Castle stand today as evidence of the town’s dramatic history.
The castle of the Danes
Near Tullbron’s eastern bastion lie the ruins of the castle called Falkenberg. It was built near the end of the 13th century, right by the river’s last stretch of rapids before flowing out to the North Sea. At the time, parts of Halland belonged to Denmark. For many years, the castle served as the Danish king’s northern outpost. The castle came under siege several times and was finally razed by the peasant army of the Swedish rebel leader Engelbrekt in 1434.
Only ruins remain
For centuries, the castle ruins and defence ramparts around the castle were left alone, but in connection with the construction of Tullbron in the 18th century, the builders recovered stones from the ruins for building materials. In the 1880s, the Mid-Halland Railway passed right over the castle. As the land on which the railway tracks were being built needed to be flat, part of the castle was demolished. What remains today is the basement of a square tower that constituted the most important building of a larger stronghold.
The legend of the Ätra Maiden
The story goes that when the castle was razed, there was a maiden - later known as the Ätra Maiden - hiding with the forgotten treasures in an underground hallway. Unbeknownst to the Swedish army, she was trapped down there as the collapsing walls sealed her in. It is said that a rooster now guards the treasures, turning them invisible to anyone searching for them. But, if ever Falkenberg should be in peril once more, the rooster will crow and the maiden will wake from her slumber, revealing the treasure to the people of Falkenberg.
- Halmstadvägen, Falkenberg